RESOLUTION FOR PUBLIC SAFETY FIBER ALONG THE NW RAIL LINE/GOLD LINE

WHEREAS, the Regional Transportation District ("RTD") is working with Denver Transit Partners ("DTP") to construct a public transit train system known as NW Rail Line/Gold Line from Denver Union Station through portions of Jefferson County;

WHEREAS, the Jefferson County Emergency Communications Authority ("JCECA") has previously worked with RTD for the placement of fiber optic cable under the West Corridor from the Jefferson County Government Center and to Denver Union Station and intends to work with RTD on the placement of fiber optic cable under the North Metro Rail Line;

WHEREAS, JCECA is appreciative of RTD's support of and efforts to improve public safety communications throughout the Denver metro area;

WHEREAS, JCECA has undertaken other fiber projects to connect public safety answering points (PSAPs) in Jefferson and Adams Counties;

WHEREAS, the Gold Line fiber project will provide opportunity for connecting PSAPs in Arvada, the City and County of Broomfield, Westminster, and Wheat Ridge to the West Corridor fiber;

WHEREAS, the Gold Line fiber placement will substantially assist in reaching the goal of connecting all PSAPs with one another and such fiber connection will enhance emergency 911 communications;

WHEREAS, it would be prohibitively expensive to build such a fiber project without taking advantage of the unique opportunity presented to work with RTD while RTD is constructing mass transit in the Denver metropolitan area; and

WHEREAS, RTD has requested a letter and resolution formally committing this Authority Board to installing fiber along the Gold Line.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of Directors of the Jefferson County E-911 Emergency Communications Authority that the Executive Director, Jeff Irvin, is authorized to sign a letter committing this Authority to paying an amount not to exceed \$1,300,000 to RTD for the Gold Line public safety fiber project.

Casey Tighe	Yes
Chris Ambrose,	Yes
Charles Lynn Johnson, Chairman	Yes
William Rush	yes_
Mark Krapf, Treasurer	<u>yes</u>

Dated: May 22, 2014

Charles Lynn Johnson, Chairman

Attest

Pygra M. Thorn Councel